Prize Winners

The Prize Winners

The Friedrich-Becker-Prize was first awarded in 1999. In the following the prize winners are presented in backward chronological sequence:


The Prize Winner 2014: Sam Tho Duong

Sam Tho Duong wurde 1969 in Bien Hoa, Vietnam, geboren. 2002 schloss er sein Studium an der Hochschule für Gestaltung in Pforzheim als Dipl. Designer (FH) ab und arbeitet seitdem als selbständiger Designer in Pforzheim. Seine mit dem Friedrich Becker Preis ausgezeichneten Arbeiten lemitcA VA2, VB2 und VC3 sind aus recyclebarem Kunststoff mit Onyx- und Süßwasserreiskornperlen gefertigt und haben sowohl in ihrer handwerklichen Qualität als auch in ihrer Funktion als Collier und Objekt überzeugt.


The Prize Winner 2011: Alexander Vohswinkel

Alexander Vohswinkel was born in 1980, completed his training as goldsmith between 1996 – 2000 in the Benedictine Monastery at Münsterschwarzach, from 2002-2007 he studied at the University of Technology, Business and Design in Wismar, between 2007 – 2009 he worked freelance as a designer in Potsdam, and since 2009 he is based in Berlin.



Der Prize Winner 2008: Robert Baines

Robert Baines was born in 1949 in Melbourne, Australia. Over the years he researched ancient goldsmithing techniques, and today continues to experiment with the knowledge acquired from these studies seeking for a new way of interpreting traditonal goldsmith’s art. His works comes to life through their baroque splendour, achieved by the combination of structural compositions and the interpretation of traditional techniques.



The Prize Winner 2005: Peter Bauhuis

Peter Bauhuis was born 1965 in Friedrichshafen, and lives and works today in Munich. After finishing his training as goldsmith in the Staatliche Zeichenakademie Hanau (1986 – 1990), he studied at the Akademie der Bildenden Künste, in Munich, in the department for Jewellery and Hollow-Ware (1993-1999) under Professor Otto Künzli. In 1998 he was appointed as ‚Meisterschüler’. Since 1999 he works in his own artist studio.



The Prize Winner 2002: Anette Walz

Annette Walz, born 1970, finished her training as goldsmith in 1993 by winning the title of the best trainee of Lower Saxony. After two years of work in Hannover she went to Great Britian and worked in London for a year as the assistent of Jacqueline Mina. After this, she studied at the Gerrit Rietveld Academy (Amsterdam), before she came back to Hannover in 2001.



The Prize Winner 1999: Rudolf Bott