The Artwork

The Artist’s Work

Friedrich Becker was a goldsmith and maker of jewellery with prolific ideas, imagination, innovation and technical skills in his craft. Apart from making jewellery and everyday objects he created a number of large scale kinetic sculpture and objects. His designs and as Professor at the Düsseldorfer Kunsthochschule he inspired and shaped future generations of goldsmiths.

During his lifetime he was highly regarded, which is reflected in the number of awards and exhibitions he had over the years. A special honour for him was the solo exhibition at Goldsmiths‘ Hall, in London, especially as he was also the first German artist to be given a show there. Shortly before Becker died he was awarded an Honorary doctorate by the Royal College of Art, in London. In the 160 year history of the Royal College this was the first time such an honour had been given to a goldsmith.

Friedrich Becker was without doubt one of the most important goldsmiths after World War Two. The following will give you an overview of his work.


01-fine

Two Way Ring (1956)
Yellow gold 750/000, moonstone

One of the most revolutionary ideas in his early work was the ‚Two Way Ring‘ made in 1956. The starting point for this design was the question, if the oval-shaped moonstone cabochon was aesthetically more pleasing on the hand when worn either vertically or horizontally. Friedrich Becker solved the problem by devloping a ring that can be worn in two directions. Thus the wearer can vary the visual effect.


02-fine

Diamondseller (1959)
Stainless steel, synthetic white spinels, length 103mm

In 1959 Becker developed a gauge for diamonds to determine the caratweight of the gemstone. The ‚diamondseller‘ has become a valuable tool for the goldsmith, without Friedrich Becker having filed for a patent. For him this was of secondary importance, as he had already turned his interests toward developing new ideas from this concept. Of greater importance to him was the aesthetics of the gauge, and how it took on variable forms when swivelling the pointers.


03-fine

Interchangeable Gemstones and Beads (1957)
Ring yellow gold 750/000 with interchangeable bead in rutilated quartz

The idea of variability continued to fascinate Friedrich Becker. For him the wearer of the jewellery was to have the possibility of creating different visual effects. On rings and bracelets he adapted the settings so that the gemstones or beads were interchangeable and thus the wearer could choose a colour scheme. For this special type of setting applied to a ring he received the Bavarian State Prize in 1959, the setting had not been seen before, any traditional elements, supports or galleries had been ignored. Thus the decorative element of a setting takes over the function of holding the gemstone. For Friedrich Becker the simultaneity of ornament and function remained important, as also avoiding any unnecessary features


04c-fine

Variable Jewellery (1962)
Brooch, yellow gold 750/000, rubies, diameter 37mm

This idea was developed further, and the wearer could now design the jewel by having the possibility of varying its shape. The most suitable type of jewellery for such a concept is the brooch, such as the one shown here, made in 1962.


05_4-fine

Variable Jewellery (1978)
Brooch, white gold 750/000, cultured pearls, 142mm

A further example for Professor Friedrich Becker’s idea of variability in jewellery is this brooch made in 1978. The piece has innumerable permutations, as shown in the image opposite.


06c-fine

Kinetic Jewellery (1969)
Bracelet, white gold 750/000, diamonds, lapis lazuli

From 1964 onwards Friedrich Becker developed the next step from jewellery being variable, to that of kinetic jewellery, which moves perpetually when worn. Now Becker benefits greatly from his knowledge of aeronautical engineering, and most of all his joy in experimenting and discovering new concepts. To make kinetic objects delicate technology and a high degree of craftsmanship is required, Friedrich Becker excels in both criteria.


07b-fine

Stainless steel and Synthetic Stones (1987)
Stainless steel, synthetic red corundum

The kinetic ‚Two Finger Ring‘ reveals a further invention of Friedrich Becker. He intentionally worked with synthetic gemstones and made them socially acceptable. It was important to him that the viewer could detect through size and shape that the stone was man-made, and not original. It is significant that the synthetic stones are not combined with silver or gold, but with stainless steel. The introduction of these materials inspired numerous jewellers. The size of the kinetic stone required a larger scale ring, which is worn over two fingers – a further important feature within Friedrich Becker’s oeuvre.


08a-fine

Kinetic Object (1972)
Kinetic wall piece „Sun Wheels“, stainless steel, 4,0 x 3,9m

Friedrich Becker is well-known by the general public through his kinetic sculptures in public spaces. These often relate to his kinetic jewellery creations. Also his known ‚Sun Wheels‘ in the brewhouse of the Veltins Brewery are based on the principles applied to a brooch he made


09-fine

‚Knife-edge Profile‘ (1964)
Brooch, white gold 750/000, diamond, length 135mm

A particular design of Friedrich Becker, which was frequently copied by the jewellery industry, is the ‚knife-edge‘ setting, as he called it, whereby the gemstone is held by a fine, knife-edge-like profile. The almost invisible setting consists of a funnel-shaped opening with inserted loop. This process required high precision which was Becker’s trademark. He rejected any lack of precision or coarse workmanship.

Das Werk

Das künstlerische Werk

Friedrich Becker war ein enorm ideenreicher, innovativer, technisch und handwerklich versierter Goldschmied und Schmuckkünstler, der neben Schmuck und Gebrauchsgerät auch eine Vielzahl kinetischer Großobjekte geschaffen hat. Mit seinen Entwicklungen, aber auch als Professor der Düsseldorfer Kunsthochschule hat er eine Vielzahl nachfolgender Goldschmiede geprägt.

Schon zu Lebzeiten genoss er hohe Anerkennung, die sich in zahlreichen Preisen und Ausstellungen ausdrückt. Eine besondere Ehre war darunter seine Einzelausstellung in der Londoner Goldsmith’s Hall, die erste eines deutschen Künstlers überhaupt. Noch kurz vor seinem Tod empfing er den Ehrendoktortitel des Royal College of Art in London. In der 160-jährigen Geschichte des Royal College war diese Ehre noch keinem Goldschmied zuteil geworden.

Friedrich Becker war der wohl bedeutendste deutsche Goldschmied nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg. Nachfolgend erhalten Sie einen Einblick in sein Werk.


01-fine

Zweiwegering (1956)
Gelbgold 750/000, Mondstein

Eine geradezu revolutionäre Entwicklung seiner frühen Schaffensphase war die Entwicklung des Zweiwegeringes 1956. Ausgangspunkt war die Frage, ob der Mondstein auf dem Ring in Quer- oder Längsrichtung besser wirke. Friedrich Becker löste dieses Problem kurzerhand mit der Entwicklung eines Ringes, der in zwei Richtungen getragen werden kann. Damit konnte die Trägerin die Wirkung des Ringes variieren.


02-fine

Diamondseller (1959)
Edelstahl, synthetische weiße Spinelle, Länge 103 mm

1959 entwickelte Friedrich Becker eine Größenlehre für Diamanten, mit der die Karat-Einteilung abmessbar ist. Dieser „Diamondseller“ hat sich inzwischen als ein weit verbreitetes Hilfsmittel für Goldschmiede durchgesetzt, ohne dass Friedrich Becker je eine patentrechtliche Anmeldung angestrebt hätte, was ihm grundsätzlich zweitrangig war, da er sich bereits neuen Ideen zugewendet hatte. Wichtig war ihm dagegen die Ästhetik der Größenlehre, die durch Ausklappen der schwenkbaren Zeiger variable Formen annehmen konnte.


03-fine

Auswechselbare Steine und Kugeln (1957)
Ring Gelbgold 750/000 mit auswechselbarer Rutilquarzkugel

Das Thema der Variabilität ließ Friedrich Becker nicht mehr los. Der Träger des Schmucks selbst sollte die Möglichkeiten zur optischen Änderung haben. Diese Variationsmöglichkeit stellte er in vielen Ringen und Armbändern her, indem er die Fassungen so gestaltete, dass die Steine bzw. Kugeln auswechselbar waren und so die Option für andere Steine und Farben offen gehalten war. Interessant ist bei dem Ring, für den er 1959 den Bayerischen Staatspreis erhielt, vor allem die Fassung des Steins, die ohne traditionelle Elemente wie Steinfassung, Stotzen, Unterbauten oder Galerien völlig außer Acht lässt. Damit haben die dekorativen Elemente gleichzeitig die Funktion, den Stein zu halten. Friedrich Becker war diese Gleichzeitigkeit von Dekoration und Funktion und die Vermeidung überflüssiger dekorativer Elemente stets wichtig.


04c-fine

Variabler Schmuck (1962)
Ansteckschmuck Gelbgold 750/000, Rubine, Durchmesser
37 mm

Die Entwicklung ging dahin, dass seine Schmuckstücke auch in ihrer Form durch den Träger und Betrachter variiert werden konnten. Am besten ließ sich dies beim Ansteckschmuck realisieren, wie bei der hier gezeigten Brosche aus dem Jahr 1962.


05_4-fine

Variabler Schmuck (1978)
Ansteckschmuck, Weißgold 750/000, Zuchtperlen, 142 mm

Ein weiteres Beispiel für Professor Friedrich Beckers Idee von vielfach veränderbaren Schmuck ist dieser Ansteckschmuck aus dem Jahr 1978. Der Schmuck kann in die unterschiedlichsten Formen gebracht werden, unter anderem auch in die im nebenstehenden Bild gezeigte.


06c-fine

Kinetischer Schmuck (1969)
Armschmuck, Weißgold 750/000, Brillanten, Lapislazuli

Ab 1964 vollzieht Friedrich Becker einen weiteren Schritt von dem durch den Träger veränderbaren variablen Schmuck hin zu kinetischem Schmuck, der sich beim Tragen in ständiger Bewegung ist. Hier kommt ihm sein umfassendes technisches Wissen als Luftfahrttechniker, vor allem aber seine Freude am Experimentieren und Erfinden zugute. Die filigrane Technik der Kinetiken erforderte ferner ein Höchstmaß an handwerklichem Können, durch das sich Friedrich Becker in besonderem Maße auszeichnete.


07b-fine

Edelstahl und Synthesen (1987)
Edelstahl, synthetischer roter Korund

Dieser Kinetische Zweifingerring offenbart weitere Inventionen von Friedrich Becker: Er arbeitete bewusst mit synthetischen Steinen und machte diese für die Schmuckkunst hoffähig. Dabei war für den Betrachter schon anhand der Größe und Form des Steines sichtbar, dass es sich nicht um ein Original handelte. Bezeichnenderweise kombinierte Becker die Synthesen nicht mit Gold oder Silber, sondern mit Edelstahl. Die Einführung dieser Materialien in die Schmuckkunst hat daraufhin viele Goldschmiede geprägt. Die Größe des kinetischen Steines erforderte einen größeren Ring, der über zwei Finger getragen wird – ebenfalls ein Charakteristikum in Friedrich Beckers Werk.


08a-fine

Kinetisches Objekt (1972)
Wandkinetik »Sonnenräder«, Edelstahl, 4,0 x 3,9 m

Einer großen Öffentlichkeit bekannt ist Friedrich Becker durch seine Kinetiken im öffentlichen Raum. Häufig basieren diese auf seinen kinetischen Schmuckstücken. Auch die bekannten „Sonnenräder“ im Sudhaus der Brauerei Veltins gehen auf ein Prinzip zurück, das Friedrich Becker beim Ansteckschmuck angewendet hat.


09-fine

Messerprofil (1964)
Ansteckschmuck, Weißgold 750/000, Brillant, Länge 135 mm

Eine besondere Entwicklung Friedrich Beckers, die später vielfach von der Schmuckindustrie kopiert wurde, war die Fassung eines Steins auf einem schmalen, klingenförmigen Profil, das er selbst als „Messerprofil“ bezeichnete. Die nahezu unsichtbare Fassung besteht aus einem trichterförmigen Einschnitt und einer dort eingeschobenen Auflageöse. Dies erforderte eine sehr exakte Verarbeitung, durch die sich Becker besonders auszeichnete. Ungenauigkeiten und rohe Bearbeitungen waren ihm zuwider.